The National Strategy For Homeland Security  

July 16th, 2002 President Bush unveiled his national strategy for homeland security, "... the product of more than eight months of intense consultation across the United States...." distilled from conversations with "... literally thousands of people - governors and mayors, state legislators and Members of Congress, concerned citizens and foreign leaders, professors and soldiers, firefighters and police officers, doctors and scientists, airline pilots and farmers, business leaders and civic activists, journalists and veterans, and the victims, and their families."

Compare this to the Framework against Terrorism -Homeland Security   outline from   OPED23 A Framework Against Terrorism.

The President's plan consists of 6 critical mission areas:

4 foundations:

Intelligence & Warning: The four areas of tactical threat analysis, strategic analysis, vulnerability assessments, and Threat-Vulnerability Integration provide the means to engage in tactical preventitive action, warning and protective action, and finally strategic response (i.e. policy) The following graphic shows the inter-relations between these categories, as well as the lead agency in each case:

Download the entire plan here   Note: 2.7 Meg PDF file.

© SNi 07/25/02